ℹ️ If you have trouble registering or do not receive a verification e-mail, please ask for help in chat.

⚠️ We have removed underscores from user names (know more), if you have trouble to log in and your username featured an underscore, please retry without underscore.

Odd Red Overlay

Get support for Unvanquished.
User avatar
BlueMustache
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:05 am UTC

Odd Red Overlay

Postby BlueMustache » Mon Jan 11, 2016 10:20 pm UTC

Hello Community,
I thought today I would try an share Unvanquished with some friends at school.
I was able to install it on our crappy computers, and I turned all the graphical settings down and got a decent framerate.
The problem is, the game is playable, but there is an issue.
The screen when being actively re-drawn, it has a red overlay. It hasn't happened on my 16:9 screen at home, but at school we have 4:3 monitors. I feel like that might be a part of the problem. I would think the problem might be the drivers, but the bug acts oddly. Our monitors are 1280 x 1024, so I halved the graphics to get better FPS, and then the engine reassigned the values to 800 x 600. So me and another person experienced this problem, but it is very easy to see at 800 x 600. However, if left at 1280 x 1024, the overlay is impossibly to see through. In other words, the bigger the display, the less visibility. I don't know the specs on the computers, but I can get them tomorrow if need be. Will a DXDiag log work (spits out everything about the computer)?
Any solutions?

Thanks,
-Blue
//TODO.
If you need to email me, PM me first, and I'll give you it.
User avatar
Ishq
Project Head
Posts: 1138
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:32 pm UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby Ishq » Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:09 am UTC

Could you post a screenshot? Press F11 and the screenshots will be saved in Documents\My Games\Unvanquished\Screenshots on windows and in ~/Library/Application Support/Unvanquished/screenshots for osx. I don't know what you mean by red overlay.
User avatar
BlueMustache
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:05 am UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby BlueMustache » Fri Jan 15, 2016 8:58 pm UTC

Here are the screenshots, and also you condump command is broken.

http://imgur.com/a/Smt8G

I tried it, and it says invalid characters for what you had me type.

-Blue
//TODO.
If you need to email me, PM me first, and I'll give you it.
User avatar
Ishq
Project Head
Posts: 1138
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:32 pm UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby Ishq » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:36 pm UTC

Interesting. Looks like it might be related to color grading to me. Will to to come up with a workaround.
User avatar
BlueMustache
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:05 am UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby BlueMustache » Sat Jan 16, 2016 6:22 pm UTC

Ishq wrote:Interesting. Looks like it might be related to color grading to me. Will to to come up with a workaround.


Every other than gameplay looks fine. Like the grayscale team choose, the menu, loading etc.
It's just the in game that turns red. Also, your condump command is broken.
//TODO.
If you need to email me, PM me first, and I'll give you it.
User avatar
BlueMustache
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:05 am UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby BlueMustache » Mon Jan 18, 2016 5:28 pm UTC

Ishq wrote:Interesting. Looks like it might be related to color grading to me. Will to to come up with a workaround.


Any news on that workaround?
//TODO.
If you need to email me, PM me first, and I'll give you it.
User avatar
Ishq
Project Head
Posts: 1138
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:32 pm UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby Ishq » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:01 am UTC

Eh, I can only think of two things: It's a color grading issue or a UI issue. You can try to force neutral color grading by typing
(in devmap)

Code: Select all

/testcgrade gfx/cgrading/neutral


Also, see what happens if you type

Code: Select all

cg_draw2D 0


Thanks!

Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests