starting self compiled version

Release and discuss things you've made, including mods.
User avatar
DwarfVader
Mantis
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:40 am UTC

starting self compiled version

Postby DwarfVader » Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:00 pm UTC

Hi Guys,

I'm running in some trouble trying to start a self compiled clone of the unv source from within the CodeBlocks IDE.
configure and compile went fine. I also downloaded the needed game files with the provided shell script without problems ( followed the wiki tutorial ), but if I'm trying to start unv from within the IDE it stops due to missing default.cfg file.
Haven't had the poblem last time i selfcompiled. But that was before I used the installation method via the apt repository you now providing for my gaming install. I used the Installer the last time i setup a paralell installation of the game for programming and experimental reasons.
I also noticed during cmake target creation that there are no options to provide an alternative path for the User game files ( still reference to ~/.Unvanquished). My Question are now: Where to put the default.cfg file so that i can launch the game from within my IDE for testing reasons and if you could alter the default cmake.txt to include an option to set an alternative path for the necessary user game files ( Gaming Directory ). the content of the crashlog.txt: Couldn't load default.cfg — I am missing essential files — verify your installation? is also not very helpfully. At least the default search path could be shown to help ( me :-) ) workaround that error.

Dwarfy
User avatar
Anomalous
Programmer
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 3:51 pm UTC

Re: starting self compiled version

Postby Anomalous » Fri Apr 19, 2013 8:05 pm UTC

+set fs_homepath DIRECTORY
Debian and Ubuntu packages (squeeze, wheezy, sid; 12.04, 12.10, 13.04) may work on derivatives

OFFEND! … no, that's not right… ATTACK!
User avatar
DwarfVader
Mantis
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:40 am UTC

Re: starting self compiled version

Postby DwarfVader » Fri Apr 19, 2013 8:26 pm UTC

ok. that was not exactly what i wanted, because i now had to create an extra tool within the CodeBlocks IDE to start the game ( >point it to the compiled binary with the parameter you mentioned ) witch brings me into the game menu but the client crashes upon connection trying to download vms-14 pk3. SO something is still not working/is missing/is there , but in the wrong version ... <- does the git version normaly run on your machine, if the compile went fine? please tell me what adjustments you normaly have to do, to run a compiled version fresh from git. Obviously downloading the game files/maps isn't enough - at least on my setup :-(

DwarfVader
User avatar
Anomalous
Programmer
Posts: 318
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 3:51 pm UTC

Re: starting self compiled version

Postby Anomalous » Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:28 am UTC

Strangely, v0.14.0 did later succeed in connecting. I'm not sure what's going on here…

I have resources in /usr/games/unvanquished/main with symlinks in ~/.Unvanquished/main so that I can run ./daemon without requiring extra parameters. Other than that, more or less stock options (except that I usually do debug builds and link in libopenal at compile time).
Debian and Ubuntu packages (squeeze, wheezy, sid; 12.04, 12.10, 13.04) may work on derivatives

OFFEND! … no, that's not right… ATTACK!
User avatar
DwarfVader
Mantis
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:40 am UTC

Re: starting self compiled version

Postby DwarfVader » Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:51 am UTC

hmm, indeed strange. I now have copied over the missing default.cfg from an older saved unv install backup ( ~4 months old ). it starts as mentioned but with an empty language select combobox and item messed up in the game browser view( button internet is placed roughly in the center ) - and crashes during connection attempt to any server. Obviously this is due to a version mismatch, but the thing i don't understand is, that i can't locate any default.cfg file within my filesystem, which (should?) has been installed by the version from the repository i normaly use for gaming. - So something is there, i don't understand :-(

DwarfVader
User avatar
DwarfVader
Mantis
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:40 am UTC

Re: starting self compiled version

Postby DwarfVader » Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:02 pm UTC

now I'm even more confused. Used Kdevelop this time together with a fresh git master clone. copied all Pk3s and maps to ../build/main. game starts but...
(from kdevelop run.log)
execing default.cfg
execing profiles/Testar/autogen.cfg
execing profiles/Testar/keybindings.cfg
couldn't exec profiles/Testar/autoexec.cfg
^3WARNING:^7 Language "German (Germany)" (de_DE) not found. Default to "English" (en)
Set language to English
Loaded 0 languages
Couldn't read conhistory.
----- Client Initialization -----
Daemon RSA public-key found.
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- Initializing Renderer ----
Loading "/home/giat/tmp/git/unv/workSource/Unvanquished/build/librendererGL3.so"…done
Calling GetRefAPI…
SDL_Init( SDL_INIT_VIDEO )... SDL using driver "x11"
Initializing OpenGL display
Estimated display aspect: 1.778
...setting mode 6: 1024 768
Using 8/8/8 Color bits, 24 depth, 8 stencil display.
Using GLEW 1.8.0
Using enhanced (GL3) Renderer in GL 3.x mode...
Available modes: '1280x720 1920x1080 1280x800 1440x900 640x480 800x600 1024x768 1152x864 1280x1024'
GL_RENDERER: GeForce GT 440/PCIe/SSE2
Detected graphics driver class 'OpenGL 3+'
Detected graphics hardware class 'nVidia DX10-class'
Initializing OpenGL extensions
...using GL_ARB_depth_texture
...using GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
...using GL_ARB_vertex_program
...using GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object
...using GL_ARB_occlusion_query
...using GL_ARB_shader_objects
...using GL_ARB_vertex_shader
...using GL_ARB_fragment_shader
...using GL_ARB_shading_language_100
...using GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two
...using GL_ARB_draw_buffers
...using GL_ARB_half_float_pixel
...using GL_ARB_texture_float
...ignoring GL_ARB_texture_compression
...using GL_ARB_vertex_array_object
...ignoring GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc
...using GL_EXT_texture3D
...using GL_EXT_stencil_wrap
...using GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic
...using GL_EXT_stencil_two_side
...using GL_EXT_depth_bounds_test
...using GL_EXT_framebuffer_object
...using GL_EXT_packed_depth_stencil
...using GL_EXT_framebuffer_blit
...GL_ATI_separate_stencil not found
...using GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap
...GL_GREMEDY_string_marker not found
...using GL_ARB_get_program_binary
^3WARNING: Bad shader file scripts/staratcs.shader has incorrect syntax.

GL_VENDOR: NVIDIA Corporation
GL_RENDERER: GeForce GT 440/PCIe/SSE2
GL_VERSION: 4.2.0 NVIDIA 304.88
GL_SHADING_LANGUAGE_VERSION: 4.20 NVIDIA via Cg compiler
GL_MAX_VERTEX_UNIFORM_COMPONENTS 4096
^2Using OpenGL 3.x context
Using GPU vertex skinning with max 128 bones in a single pass
-------------------------------
------ Initializing Sound -----
loading libopenal.so.1
Allocated 96 sources.
OpenAL default capture device is 'Internes Audio Analog Stereo'
OpenAL capture device opened.
Using OpenAL sound backend
------------------------------------
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/eggpod.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/overmind.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/barricade.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/acid_tube.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/trapper.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/booster.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/hive.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/telenode.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/mgturret.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/tesla.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/arm.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/dcc.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/medistat.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/reactor.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/repeater.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/eggpod.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/overmind.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/barricade.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/acid_tube.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/trapper.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/booster.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/hive.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/telenode.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/mgturret.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/tesla.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/arm.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/dcc.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/medistat.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/reactor.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/repeater.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/spectator.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/builder.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/builderupg.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level0.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level1.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level1upg.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level2.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level2upg.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level3.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level3upg.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level4.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/human_base.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/human_bsuit.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/spectator.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/builder.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/builderupg.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level0.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level1.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level1upg.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level2.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level2upg.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level3.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level3upg.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/level4.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/human_base.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/classes/human_bsuit.model.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/level0.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/level1.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/level1upg.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/level2.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/level2upg.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/level3.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/level3upg.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/level4.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/blaster.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/rifle.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/psaw.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/shotgun.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/lgun.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/mdriver.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/chaingun.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/flamer.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/prifle.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/lcannon.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/grenade.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/lockblob.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/hive.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/teslagen.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/mgturret.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/abuild.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/abuildupg.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/weapon/ckit.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/upgrades/larmour.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/upgrades/helmet.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/upgrades/medkit.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/upgrades/battpack.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/upgrades/jetpack.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/upgrades/bsuit.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/upgrades/gren.attr.cfg doesn't exist
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/upgrades/ammo.attr.cfg doesn't exist
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
IP: 127.0.0.1
IP: 192.168.143.23
IP6: ::1
IP6: fe80::ca60:ff:fe59:b36e%eth0
Opening IP6 socket: [::]:27960
Opening IP socket: 0.0.0.0:27960
Sys_SendPacket (ipv6): Network is unreachable
Sys_SendPacket (ipv6): Network is unreachable
Sys_SendPacket (ipv6): Network is unreachable
^1ERROR: ^7file configs/buildables/eggpod.attr.cfg doesn't exist
...
User avatar
DwarfVader
Mantis
Posts: 102
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 4:40 am UTC

Re: starting self compiled version

Postby DwarfVader » Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:11 pm UTC

Ok i got it to run, after purging all *deb files under /var, a reinstall via the repository and copying the redownloaded pk3's over to my build dir i can now compile and start the game from within my IDE. - Thread can be closed -

DwarfVader
User avatar
velociostrich
Dragoon
Posts: 318
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 6:24 pm UTC

Re: starting self compiled version

Postby velociostrich » Tue Apr 23, 2013 1:09 am UTC

I should probably amend the instructions on the wiki to include information about checking for conflicting files and the like, as well as to fix whatever problem you were having with Code::Blocks. When I have the time...

Return to “Community Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests