alpha testing the next release [0.51.0]

Talk about anything related to Unvanquished.
Post Reply
User avatar
illwieckz
Project Head
Posts: 717
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:22 pm UTC
Location: France
Contact:

alpha testing the next release [0.51.0]

Post by illwieckz »

Hi, if you know how to clone a repository and to build it, you can help us by testing the next version of Unvanquished. :grin:

You can fetch the sources, build the game and join a testing server that way:

Code: Select all

git clone https://github.com/Unvanquished/Unvanquished.git
cd Unvanquished
git fetch for-0.51.0
git checkout for-0.51.0
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make -j4
./daemon -pakpath ../pkg -set vm.cgame.type 3 +connect gg.illwieckz.net:27967

The last command will run Unvanquished and automatically connect to the testing server, auto-downloading pre-release packages from there. If you hear some repetitive tick sound while downloading packages it's normal: at first your setup is incomplete (that's while the game is downloading things for you) and this annoying sound will disappear once the missing packages will be fetched and loaded. :smile:

If you experience a bug, report it on the related issue tracker, if you don't know where to report it, use the first one:

Some issues are already known like the random crash on map change or some missing textures on thunder map. If you find a bug, have a look on issue trackers above in case if it was already reported or not.

Today (sunday) some of us played around 19:00 UTC and later. We'll do it again. :granger:

Unvanquished 0.51 is coming! :bsuit:

This comment is licensed under cc ​​by 4 and antecedent.

User avatar
killing time
Programmer
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 7:55 am UTC

Re: alpha testing the next release [0.51.0]

Post by killing time »

It took me 2 hours to auto-download the packages, so make sure to connect early :tongue:

User avatar
illwieckz
Project Head
Posts: 717
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:22 pm UTC
Location: France
Contact:

Re: alpha testing the next release [0.51.0]

Post by illwieckz »

If some submodules are empties (should not if your clone is a fresh one), do that to fetch them:

Code: Select all

git submodule update --init --recursive

This comment is licensed under cc ​​by 4 and antecedent.

Post Reply