Game Feel and Readability: Human Weapons

Request new features or present your ideas.
Whales
Dretch

Game Feel and Readability: Human Weapons

Post by Whales »

Hey guys, Whales here. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m a veteran Tremulous player with seven years of experience under my belt. I’ve ranged from playing on casually-focused servers like |SST| and uBP, and administrating X, to playing competitively in clans such as ><enocide, Sea Men Syndicate, -sg., and most recently, Pk. I also served as a gameplay balance consultant for Unvanquished in its early stages, until I had to leave to focus on school and work. I’m coming back from inactivity, and I’m hoping to do a pretty thorough audit of the game to give a lot of feedback and ideas wherever I can.

This is hopefully part 1 of a larger series of posts, but we’ll see how much free time I have in the coming weeks.

I want to focus on readability and kinaesthetics of the game for this thread. Specifically, the human team. I haven’t finished through all of the weapons yet, but these are things that stood out to me on a quick run-through.

Before being able to discuss this seriously, it’s important to first define Kinaesthetics, or “game feel”. “Game feel” is exactly what it sounds like, how the game feels to play. This is a highly subjective matter, but in most cases, it’s literally the most important thing about your game.

“Game feel” encompasses a lot of things about a game. Does something that’s supposed to represent something real (see: a gun) actually feel like it’s real-life counterpart (see: a gun)? Another important factor is whether you feel like the action you make on your keyboard/mouse/controller feels like a 1:1 relationship to what the character does.