Page 1 of 2

Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:52 pm UTC
by illwieckz
EDIT: :announce: We are currently playing at 19:00 UTC the Sunday, see this page for some compatible locations. :bsuit:

Hey, every day I see people joining my server and every time I connect I meet a different newcomer who is happy to discover Unvanquished. :thumbup:
Badly, all these people rarely met together because they always connect at different time and day. But the game is designed to be fun while playing against real people, not against bots! So let's meet together! :bsuit:

Historically, we were doing what we called “dev game” each Sunday at 20:00 UTC. Because some people being busy, these dev games slowed down and stopped, which is a shame because it was a great way to meet together and enjoy awesome games. :granger:

So, let's revive these scheduled games! But perhaps 20:00 UTC the Sunday is not the best time for everyone, so I made a poll.
I suggest three different times and two days. You can vote any option you are likely to play. :dretch:

The time options are:

  • [19:00 UTC] → 20:00 London/Lisbon/Algiers time, 21:00 Paris/Madrid/Cairo/Johannesburg time, 22:00 Helsinki/Athens/Moscow/Beirut time, 12:00 San Francisco time and 15:00 New York time, Australian/Asian guys are sleeping at this time;
  • [11:00 UTC] → 21:00 Canberra/Vladivostok time, 20:00 Tokyo time, 19:00 Perth time, 12:00 London/Lisbon/Algiers time, 13:00 Paris/Madrid/Cairo/Johannesburg time, 14:00 Helsinki/Athens/Moscow/Beirut time, American guys are sleeping at this time;
  • [02:00 UTC] → 19:00 San Francisco time, 22:00 New York/Brasilia time, 12:00 Canberra/Vladivostok time, 11 Tokyo time, 10:00 Perth time, European/African people are sleeping at this time.

Previously we were meeting at 20:00 UTC, but note that 19:00 UTC looks better for everyone, 20:00 is only good for New-Yorker guys playing with people living in Côte d’Azur, while 19:00 UTC allows Finnish and Eastern-Russian guys to join.

The day options are:

  • [Saturday] so people can play lately in the night without worrying about Monday being a work day;
  • [Sunday] as we did before, but it means people are worrying about Monday and that's a real concern.

If none of these options looks OK to you, explain in comments!
Note that we are looking for an Australian server. :granger:

So, when are you willing to play scheduled games? :cool:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 8:06 pm UTC
by illwieckz
Note that until we decide a better schedule time for the next weeks, the next scheduled game is tomorrow: Sunday the 10th at 20:00 UTC. :bsuit:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:18 am UTC
by Ingar
I made an entry on my calendar and might actually make it this time.

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:11 am UTC
by Tom
Great idea! :thumbup: Voted 19:00 UTC Saturday.

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:29 pm UTC
by killing time
I voted for every option :tongue:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:11 pm UTC
by Tom
Image

Some players were here yesterday.

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:06 pm UTC
by illwieckz
Yeah, that was good. Badly I fell asleep while waiting and only joined lately around 20:30. Hopefully I got some good game even so. :cyclops:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:55 pm UTC
by Tom
I think setting the game an hour earlier will prevent that. :thumbup:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:49 am UTC
by illwieckz
Yes!

So we have to decide if we do it Saturday or if we keep Sunday. :yawn:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Posted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 8:34 pm UTC
by Tom
Image

Image

Some good games today.