Page 1 of 1

IQM support in NetRadiant

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 8:54 pm UTC
by illwieckz
Hi, just this topic to show off some improvements I'm doing on NetRadiant side!

Some month ago I imported in NetRadiant code base an IQM plugin from AARadiant (a radiant spin from Alien Arena). the IQM format or InterQuake Model format is the model format we use and recommend. But this plug-in was incomplete and only loaded the meshes without texturing them. So I improved this plugin to apply textures too!

See these screenshots with some iqm entity models:

Image
Image

See this screenshot with some iqm misc_models:

Image

Re: IQM support in NetRadiant

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:35 pm UTC
by Viech
The turrets in the last screenshot appear to be flying. If they are rendered correctly ingame then this may be a general mismatch.

Re: IQM support in NetRadiant

Posted: Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:46 am UTC
by illwieckz
I'm not sure they are rendered at all in gameā€¦ And by the way in-game zoffset is broken: a lot of models have to be configured to use a wrong zoffset in engine to be rendered correctly. At first I applied the game configurations (rotation, scaling, offset) to the models until I discovered the ground positions was the right ones but had to be broken to be displayed correctly in game. So perhaps this screenshot was taken when I mistakenly applied the wrong offset outside of the engine. Only scale and rotation has to be applied outside of the engine if we want to render models without transformation outside of the engine, zoffset looks to be a workaround to a bug. I don't know is the zoffset bug is linked to the fact the buildable models are mistakenly scaled twice, I think not because the wrong zoffset still has to be applied even if the models don't have to be scaled because they were scaled at build time.