Distribution: Unvanquished portable for Linux

Release and discuss things you've made, including mods.
RazZziel

Distribution: Unvanquished portable for Linux

Post by RazZziel »

Hi there,

I'm packing a portable version of Unvanquished for http://www.portablelinuxgames.org/

I downloaded the binaries from your site and tested them on my Archlinux. If I run the game normally, I get a nasty "X Error of failed request: BadAlloc (insufficient resources for operation)" error. However, if I install Unvanquished from AUR, the game runs perfectly on my Intel, so the we know the problem must be some libs under lib32.

I started playing around with the lib32/ libs, and I got the game to work removing the following libs:

Code: Select all

libGL.so.1  libICE.so.6  libstdc++.so.6  libX11.so.6  libXau.so.6  libXdamage.so.1  libXdmcp.so.6  libXext.so.6  libXfixes.so.3  libXrender.so.1  libXxf86vm.so.1

I don't know if it's the minimal set to make the game work, must most importantly, I don't know the implications portability-wise of removing these libraries. Do you think it's a good idea to remove them? When I get some broadband I can upload a portable version of the latest binaries so people can test it on their systems.

Viech
Project Head

Re: Distribution: Unvanquished portable for Linux

Post by Viech »

RazZziel wrote:

if I install Unvanquished from AUR, the game runs perfectly

You're welcome! :D

Regarding the libraries in the PKGBUILD: I copied them over from the previous maintainer, so unfortunately I can't tell wether all of them are really needed. Apart from that I don't understand why removing libraries makes your game work. If I can do any tests to help you, let me know!

Responsible for: Arch Linux package & torrent distribution, Parpax (map), Chameleon (map texture editor), Sloth (material file generator), gameplay design & programming, artistic direction

RazZziel

Post by RazZziel »

Thanks for the build!