Odd Red Overlay

Get support for Unvanquished.
User avatar
BlueMustache
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:05 am UTC

Odd Red Overlay

Postby BlueMustache » Mon Jan 11, 2016 10:20 pm UTC

Hello Community,
I thought today I would try an share Unvanquished with some friends at school.
I was able to install it on our crappy computers, and I turned all the graphical settings down and got a decent framerate.
The problem is, the game is playable, but there is an issue.
The screen when being actively re-drawn, it has a red overlay. It hasn't happened on my 16:9 screen at home, but at school we have 4:3 monitors. I feel like that might be a part of the problem. I would think the problem might be the drivers, but the bug acts oddly. Our monitors are 1280 x 1024, so I halved the graphics to get better FPS, and then the engine reassigned the values to 800 x 600. So me and another person experienced this problem, but it is very easy to see at 800 x 600. However, if left at 1280 x 1024, the overlay is impossibly to see through. In other words, the bigger the display, the less visibility. I don't know the specs on the computers, but I can get them tomorrow if need be. Will a DXDiag log work (spits out everything about the computer)?
Any solutions?

Thanks,
-Blue
//TODO.
If you need to email me, PM me first, and I'll give you it.
User avatar
Ishq
Project Head
Posts: 1138
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:32 pm UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby Ishq » Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:09 am UTC

Could you post a screenshot? Press F11 and the screenshots will be saved in Documents\My Games\Unvanquished\Screenshots on windows and in ~/Library/Application Support/Unvanquished/screenshots for osx. I don't know what you mean by red overlay.
User avatar
BlueMustache
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:05 am UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby BlueMustache » Fri Jan 15, 2016 8:58 pm UTC

Here are the screenshots, and also you condump command is broken.

http://imgur.com/a/Smt8G

I tried it, and it says invalid characters for what you had me type.

-Blue
//TODO.
If you need to email me, PM me first, and I'll give you it.
User avatar
Ishq
Project Head
Posts: 1138
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:32 pm UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby Ishq » Fri Jan 15, 2016 10:36 pm UTC

Interesting. Looks like it might be related to color grading to me. Will to to come up with a workaround.
User avatar
BlueMustache
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:05 am UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby BlueMustache » Sat Jan 16, 2016 6:22 pm UTC

Ishq wrote:Interesting. Looks like it might be related to color grading to me. Will to to come up with a workaround.


Every other than gameplay looks fine. Like the grayscale team choose, the menu, loading etc.
It's just the in game that turns red. Also, your condump command is broken.
//TODO.
If you need to email me, PM me first, and I'll give you it.
User avatar
BlueMustache
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 1:05 am UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby BlueMustache » Mon Jan 18, 2016 5:28 pm UTC

Ishq wrote:Interesting. Looks like it might be related to color grading to me. Will to to come up with a workaround.


Any news on that workaround?
//TODO.
If you need to email me, PM me first, and I'll give you it.
User avatar
Ishq
Project Head
Posts: 1138
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:32 pm UTC

Re: Odd Red Overlay

Postby Ishq » Mon Jan 25, 2016 12:01 am UTC

Eh, I can only think of two things: It's a color grading issue or a UI issue. You can try to force neutral color grading by typing
(in devmap)

Code: Select all

/testcgrade gfx/cgrading/neutral


Also, see what happens if you type

Code: Select all

cg_draw2D 0


Thanks!

Return to “Troubleshooting”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests