Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Discuss clans, events, servers, and more!

Which time and day is OK for you

19:00 UTC Saturday, Europeans meet Americans
9
43%
11:00 UTC Saturday, Australians meet Europeans
2
10%
02:00 UTC Saturday, Americans meet Australians
1
5%
19:00 UTC Sunday, Europeans meet Americans
7
33%
11:00 UTC Sunday, Australians meet Europeans
1
5%
02:00 UTC Sunday, Americans meet Australians
1
5%
 
Total votes: 21
User avatar
illwieckz
Project Head
Posts: 454
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:22 pm UTC
Location: France
Contact:

Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby illwieckz » Sat Sep 09, 2017 7:52 pm UTC

EDIT: :announce: We are currently playing at 19:00 UTC the Sunday, see this page for some compatible locations. :bsuit:

Hey, every day I see people joining my server and every time I connect I meet a different newcomer who is happy to discover Unvanquished. :thumbup:
Badly, all these people rarely met together because they always connect at different time and day. But the game is designed to be fun while playing against real people, not against bots! So let's meet together! :bsuit:

Historically, we were doing what we called “dev game” each Sunday at 20:00 UTC. Because some people being busy, these dev games slowed down and stopped, which is a shame because it was a great way to meet together and enjoy awesome games. :granger:

So, let's revive these scheduled games! But perhaps 20:00 UTC the Sunday is not the best time for everyone, so I made a poll.
I suggest three different times and two days. You can vote any option you are likely to play. :dretch:

The time options are:

  • [19:00 UTC] → 20:00 London/Lisbon/Algiers time, 21:00 Paris/Madrid/Cairo/Johannesburg time, 22:00 Helsinki/Athens/Moscow/Beirut time, 12:00 San Francisco time and 15:00 New York time, Australian/Asian guys are sleeping at this time;
  • [11:00 UTC] → 21:00 Canberra/Vladivostok time, 20:00 Tokyo time, 19:00 Perth time, 12:00 London/Lisbon/Algiers time, 13:00 Paris/Madrid/Cairo/Johannesburg time, 14:00 Helsinki/Athens/Moscow/Beirut time, American guys are sleeping at this time;
  • [02:00 UTC] → 19:00 San Francisco time, 22:00 New York/Brasilia time, 12:00 Canberra/Vladivostok time, 11 Tokyo time, 10:00 Perth time, European/African people are sleeping at this time.

Previously we were meeting at 20:00 UTC, but note that 19:00 UTC looks better for everyone, 20:00 is only good for New-Yorker guys playing with people living in Côte d’Azur, while 19:00 UTC allows Finnish and Eastern-Russian guys to join.

The day options are:

  • [Saturday] so people can play lately in the night without worrying about Monday being a work day;
  • [Sunday] as we did before, but it means people are worrying about Monday and that's a real concern.

If none of these options looks OK to you, explain in comments!
Note that we are looking for an Australian server. :granger:

So, when are you willing to play scheduled games? :cool:
Last edited by illwieckz on Mon Oct 30, 2017 12:20 am UTC, edited 5 times in total.
This comment is licensed under cc ​​by 4 and antecedent.
User avatar
illwieckz
Project Head
Posts: 454
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:22 pm UTC
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby illwieckz » Sat Sep 09, 2017 8:06 pm UTC

Note that until we decide a better schedule time for the next weeks, the next scheduled game is tomorrow: Sunday the 10th at 20:00 UTC. :bsuit:
This comment is licensed under cc ​​by 4 and antecedent.
User avatar
Ingar
Mapper
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 3:09 pm UTC
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby Ingar » Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:18 am UTC

I made an entry on my calendar and might actually make it this time.
User avatar
Tom
Dragoon
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:34 pm UTC
Location: France

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby Tom » Sun Sep 10, 2017 10:11 am UTC

Great idea! :thumbup: Voted 19:00 UTC Saturday.
User avatar
killing time
Programmer
Posts: 78
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 7:55 am UTC

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby killing time » Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:29 pm UTC

I voted for every option :tongue:
User avatar
Tom
Dragoon
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:34 pm UTC
Location: France

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby Tom » Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:11 pm UTC

Image

Some players were here yesterday.
User avatar
illwieckz
Project Head
Posts: 454
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:22 pm UTC
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby illwieckz » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:06 pm UTC

Yeah, that was good. Badly I fell asleep while waiting and only joined lately around 20:30. Hopefully I got some good game even so. :cyclops:
This comment is licensed under cc ​​by 4 and antecedent.
User avatar
Tom
Dragoon
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:34 pm UTC
Location: France

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby Tom » Wed Sep 13, 2017 6:55 pm UTC

I think setting the game an hour earlier will prevent that. :thumbup:
User avatar
illwieckz
Project Head
Posts: 454
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:22 pm UTC
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby illwieckz » Fri Sep 15, 2017 8:49 am UTC

Yes!

So we have to decide if we do it Saturday or if we keep Sunday. :yawn:
This comment is licensed under cc ​​by 4 and antecedent.
User avatar
Tom
Dragoon
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:34 pm UTC
Location: France

Re: Reviving scheduled games, let's play with real players

Postby Tom » Sun Oct 01, 2017 8:34 pm UTC

Image

Image

Some good games today.

Return to “Community”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests